Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

A walk to Ali Pasha’s castle

“It will be a nice easy stroll , we can park the car in the car park and it’s just a few yards up the hill, perfect for our last day!” Mr E proposed to me.

Humph!

Satnav led us to the nearest village to the castle. It towered above us on the hill top, the footpath said 1.3km.

“How hard can that be?”

Answer “Blooming hard”- the footpath was loose stones, gravel roots, undergrowth and remorselessly UP

To add insult to injury when we got to the top, there was the carpark and what is more one of those tourists trains had just come up from a stop near our apartment.

So was it worth it? Yes. The views were magnificent.

Ali Pasha, sounds a nice benign sort of chap. He wasn’t. An Albanian who lived 1740- 1822, began life as a brigand and end up a tyrant of the Ottoman Empire. More info on him here. Lord Byron apparently met him and he appears in the poem Childe Harold , and more on that https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Childe_Harold’s_Pilgrimage

However he did build a jolly good castle , here come the pics

Parga, Greece September 2015 142

The entrance and scene of much huffing and puffing from yours truly. Believe me the footpath was brutal, my left heel has still not  recovered, it hurts a lot and I get occasional stabbing pains a fortnight later.

Parga, Greece September 2015 127

Lovely views.

Inside is just as good.

Parga, Greece September 2015 135

There are passages inside that take you down long corridors with views out.

Parga, Greece September 2015 131

We came down by the road slightly further than that path, but easier underfoot.

Have a look at the incline

Parga, Greece September 2015 143

 

Can you see the castle at the top?

Parga, Greece September 2015 144

There it is a bit bigger.

Anyway much better pictures here

Love to know of any walks you have done recently, were they nice and gentle or a bit tough? This has got to be the hardest one we have done this year, and probably one of the shortest.

 

 

 

Comments on: "A walk to Ali Pasha’s castle" (15)

  1. thanks for doing the walking for us ^^

  2. I’ve just been away (as you will see on my blop soon) and one of the highlights for me was climbing and clambering up a stepped path to the castle at Durnstein where Richard the Lionheart was held.

  3. Shame about the hard slog but lovely to see more of your holiday. Glad the views were worth it: here’s my link: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/wednesday-walk-continued/

  4. Um, I want to go on a walk to a castle! Not a lot of those around here!

  5. 1.3km is always a lot farther when it is UP. Those views at least made it worthwhile!

  6. I walked to the mailbox yesterday. It’s about a half a mile up the street. Does that count?? 🙂 Not castles at the top of my hill or anywhere around. Sorry about the foot. You’ll have to be off it awhile for it to heal.

    • All walking counts I think, it does in my book anyway. The problem is the sole of my heel it just hurts if I stand to long on it right now. I think the problem was I was in sandals expecting a gentle stroll not a route fit for a mountain goat!!

      • Sounds like heel spurs and they are PAINFUL! I have a bunion that has been creating problems for the last 30 years so I understand. I used to have a dog that made me walk twice a day, a couple of miles each time. I sure miss a dog and the walks but that’s no longer an option. Going to have to find another trick to make myself go up those hills. :))

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

