Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

Ryedale show 2015 004

I am STILL knitting my Alpaca mix cardigan, but now on the second sleeve. The end is in sight!!

New book again this week, am I just spending too much time reading?

Now I LOVE Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen so was most intrigued when I spotted a book of the same name but by Val McDermid in the Library. Turns out it is part of something called The Austen Project. Has anyone heard of this? Basically six modern authors each take one of Jane Austen’s novels  and reworks it in the modern day. At first this book struck me as very clever. Bath becomes Edinburgh, the Assembly rooms and the life of Georgian England becomes the Arts Festival. Romantic fiction becomes vampire fiction. But I love the Jane Austen book so much that I know it pretty well and I keep getting distracted by the thoughts that “Oh in the real book this was the setting”. And worse still I find that I am imagining the characters in Georgian dress. It’s very weird and I can’t help wondering why on earth has this been done. Northanger Abbey is already a very accessible novel, why bother changing it at all for a modern audience? I read this review to see if it is just me that feels this, and it would appear not. Perhaps Joanne Trollope’s reworking of Pride and Prejudice is better. Has anyone read these books in the Austen project? If so what did you think?

Linking with Giny for Yarn Along

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (5)

  1. I liked the original which I read years ago. I don’t think I would enjoy a modern reworking of anything as often it is the period detail that I enjoy in books. I love books written between the wars and with Dorothy Sayers I like the feel of the period as much as the stories.

  2. I’m not a fan of remakes either. If it isn’t broken, don’t fix it. Looking forward to seeing the completed cardigan.

  3. Interesting – although you’ve certainly not sold the book to me. I had heard of the Austin project, but not read any. I think I’d have the same problems as you with it though. Nearly there with the cardi 🙂

  4. I totally agree – it’s unappealing. Why rewrite newer versions when the old stand the test of time? Better surely to write original novels.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

