Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

15 for 2015- June

Funny old month in some ways. I have spent a lot of time in the garden, weeding and planting. My Dad died a year ago, so that anniversary and Father’s Day brought back many memories , and an acceptance that he has gone. Immediately after his death I was thrown into a state of high activity, organizing the funeral, dealing with solicitors, estate agents, auctioneers etc. Then my Mum had a stroke ( July) and two months were spent hospital visiting and liaising with social workers. Then came the news of another family member (September) who had cancer and the next nine months was all about supporting that person. Now at last I have the time to think about my Dad, a gentle man and much missed by us all.

Once again I have had reason again to be grateful for my 15 for 2015 list, at a time when I could have succumbed to a low mood, I used the goals to do some positive things for me.

Here’s what happened in June.

15 minutes walking four times a week, yes I am managing this

14 Bags to a charity shop. No more this month. Total stands at 8

13 animal photos. This continues to be a joy and a challenge. In our garden we are regularly visited by a squirrel and two young squirrels, a wild rabbit who comes by daily, Mr E keeps saying lettuces and air guns, dreadful thought, baby birds have been fledging left, right and centre, frogs lurk in every flower bed, newts in the pond, bats fly by nightly, owls hunt, one landed on the roof the other night and had a feast. I could hear it. But I have no photos. the best I can share is the House Martins nest, and you may need a magnifying glass to see it.

9.6.15 009

I don’t count this one. total stays at 10

12 Meetings with friends. Yes , I met with Jane again. It does me so much good to laugh and chat.  Total is 6

11 new savoury recipes, my cooking mojo has gone for now, total stands at 7. I think I need a new recipe book to inspire me. I like lots of pictures. Any recommendations anyone, I don’t like too spicy!

10 Handwritten letters. I had good news so I wrote 3 letters this month to friends. Total is now 4

9 handmade cards. Total still at 8

8 sewing projects. I am loving the SAL. Total stays at 3

7 new yarns. I have gone back to knitting my Alpaca mix cardigan. Total stays at 1

6 trips to  a museums, art gallery, place of interest. I visited the Yorkshire museum in York and went to the Richard the third exhibition. interesting but disappointing, most of the information had been covered in recent TV documentaries. What I did love about this museum was seeing part of the ruined Abbey within the museum itself. And there was a fascinating room dedicated to geology , not a subject that has grabbed me before , but this did. More can be read here Then of course there was the day out to Middleham Castle and Jervaulx Abbey. I count that as one and the museum trip as one, which gives me a total of 3.

5,4,3,2,1,and zero, nothing new to report. I keep a running total on the pages section.

Here’s a couple more animal pictures that aren’t counting.

Middleham castle June 2015 004

Too distant and the same can be said for this one too.

Middleham castle June 2015 028

Both taken near Middleham castle. I like the idea that Richard the third learned his skills as a horseman in the field with the horse. View was taken from the Castle Keep. Sheep in field taken near our picnic site.

How are you doing with your goals for 2015 now we are half way through the year! And as my Dad would have said, the days are drawing in!

Comments on: "15 for 2015- June" (6)

  1. The days may be drawing in but they are definitely getting warmer, thank goodness!

  2. Thank you for sharing your part of the world with all of us. I love reading your blog. Keep on keeping on. Hugs, Tamara

  3. Great to see you adding/ticking more off on your list. 🙂

  4. I recommend buying Good Food Magazine, it’s seasonal food and nice to flick through and decide on a new recipe without too much thought. I’ve got the current one to look at soon.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

