Life and Thyme!

Yarn Along!

I am pleased to say that I finished knitting the white cardigan for Little Miss F. I can’t believe how many mistakes I made in just 18 rows of pattern. I need to practice more I think. I am now knitting a cardigan for myself in an Alpaca mix yarn, just started the first front.

23.6.15 003

I did a grave injustice to the novel I was reading last week, Night Waking by Susan Moss. I didn’t warm to any of her characters but the plot kept me engaged throughout and was thought provoking. At the centre of the story are a couple and their two young sons. They have to negotiate a way of enabling both parents to follow a career. They love their children but for both work comes first. Contrasted to this couple is a visiting family to their holiday cottage. The father is a very successful surgeon whereas the Mother gave up her career to run the family and be a full time Mum. The oldest son is not with them. The youngest child a daughter has an eating disorder and is exceptionally rude and unpleasant to her Mum. She worries and can’t see how her daughter would cope at university without her , only the daughter doesn’t want to go to university. So the question posed is should a woman have a career or not have a career if she has children. Both women are at opposite ends of the spectrum.  The third story running through the book is told through some found letters written in the 1870s from a young nurse sent to the Scottish island to improve neo natal health. The fictional island is based on St Kilda and conditions it describes are unbelievable, but true.

23.6.15 002

The book I am reading now is  Tea by the Nursery Fire by Noel Streatfield, and is a sheer delight. I love her writing. It is a complete contrast in childcare from the previous book, telling the story of a young Nannie at the turn of the century. The difference between the haves and the have nots.

Mr E was rather taken with my book. He found one to complement it and lay it on the bed next to mine.

23.6.15 001

HUMPH!

Linking with Ginny for Yarn Along

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (6)

  1. that little white sweater is so sweet. 🙂

  2. Such a pretty dainty cardigan. So easy to make mistakes in a pattern till you get your eye in!

  3. Hope you will show your alpaca sweater. Thank you for the book reports, very helpful when one is looking for new reading material.

  4. Pretty cardigan. Well done. I agree it can take a while to get your eye in. There also are some days, I find, when brain refuses to connect properly to fingers however hard I concentrate!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

