Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Flower Festival

I did a bit more bunking off from weeding duty on Monday afternoon to visit a flower festival in a local church. The theme was A Flower Festival of Fairy Stories.

I think I have watched too much Bake Off. Bear with me the two really are connected. One of Mary Berry’s big criticisms of bakers is the use of too many  props to convey a theme, its about the baking she says. Well the same I thought could be said of a flower festival. All the exhibits were lovely, but too many props and not enough flowers, many were just a flower arrangement in a container. (The school entries were very sweet and are totally not included in this comment.) See what you think.I shall save the best till last.

The Elves and the Shoemaker

flowers june 2015 017

Teddy Bears Picnic

flowers june 2015 018

Check out the marzipan picnic

flowers june 2015 019

Wind in the Willows ( school entry)

flowers june 2015 021

Peter Pan

flowers june 2015 023

The Gingerbread Man (school entry)

flowers june 2015 024

And now my two favourites

The Ugly Duckling

flowers june 2015 015

and my number one top notch winner was

The Princess and the Pea

flowers june 2015 016

isn’t she sweet!

I couldn’t do any of them by the way,so what do I know!! Which do you like best, was I too harsh in my comments, do let me know.

Comments on: "Flower Festival" (11)

  1. Hi Cathy…I don’t think your were too harsh…I think you’re right…not a lot of imagination until the last two at least they tried to use the flowers to tell the story!! My favourite is The Princess and the Pea too.

    On another note, I have all this yarn a wanting…I don’t want anything for it..just a loving home to turn it into…well at least something even if its granny squares!. Is there any organisations I could pass it on to do you think…being new here I don’t know where to start…
    My email camomile25@aol.com with any ideas you may have.

    Have a great weekend.
    regards
    Jan.x

  2. I see what you mean and awful lot of staging in some – but love that swan. I bunk off housework to weed!

  3. You are correct!

  4. I agree with you Cathy! I love the princess and pea arrangement. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

  5. I agree. Until the last couple it is lots of props and a few flowers just to make it a flower entry. The Princess and the pea is the best – very clever!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

