Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

I finally finished the back of the cardigan I am making myself using an Alpaca blend wool.

9.6.15 011

I am still not certain that the two colours go well together, and I have to say I got very bored knitting it. But there was the simple crochet blanket I am making for my son Mr B .

9.6.15 010

But even this got a bit boring , round and round with the same three colours. So,… I had promised to make Little Miss F a white cardigan for summer. Now I don’t like knitting with white, boring, so I decided to try a pattern, just a little pattern don’t you know, a mere 18 rows of pattern , before it goes to stocking stitch.

Sailed up the back in two days. Onto the left side . Enter the dancing on air good news. Concentration was shot to pots. 4 times I had to unpick the 32 stitches of pattern. First mistake, 33 stitches on needle, took 5 rows to figure that out. Start again. Mucky mark on first row, 7 rows to spot that. Start again. Complete mess up of pattern, probably at row 11, but not spotted till row 18. Start again. Finally miss out row 13 and do 15 instead. Fortunately picked up on row 15, the real one.  Unpick back to row 13. Aaagh!

Just completed the right side 18 rows of pattern, no mistakes this time. Less than half an hour to knit. Moral of tale, do not knit patterns when feeling euphoric! No alcohol involved.

9.6.15 012

This is a jolly good book by the way, cracking detective story.

Good news. Thornton Dale, has a new knitting and craft shop. Less good news it’s not very good. Patterns with no yarn and yarn with no patterns. 100g of white wool , good , mixing two brands and trying to sell one of each instead of two the same, and not realizing the mistake, not good at all.

Bagpuss pattern, totally brilliant. Trying to sell a pale pink and not a lovely bright pink, not good. But I ordered the right wool mail order from Deramores. Very pretty.

9.6.15 013

So all I have to do is finish the white cardigan for Little Miss F and the one for me, and I can start on Bagpuss.

Cross stitch also not going well, brain was still euphoric when I did that last, unpicking cross stitch not so easy, but tis done.

Linking with Ginny

 

 

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (15)

  1. Sounds like an awful lots of ups and downs. I look forward to seeing Bagpuss. Hopefully that will strike a good balance between interesting and not having to concentrate too hard.

  2. Hi Cathy….glad to hear the recent good news….you made me laugh out loud about the white cardigan…been there done that!!….I’m crocheting little cottages at the moment…I had a stall at a craft fair in Hutton le Hole booked for end of June but have had to cancel as my sister had had a very mild stroke and I may need to go and visit. Anyway another thing is that I am still unpacking my craft stuff and I have far too much yarn to know what to do with and being in a tiny cottage no where to store it, so it you are interested please email me at camomile25@aol.com and we perhaps can sort something out, or if you have an idea what I can do with it 🙂

    Look forward to hearing from you

    regards
    Jan x

  3. Hi Cathy! I had to laugh when I read your words of taking out and not realizing until the 18th row. Ugh! I know how you feel. I have those days as well, when nothing seems to go right. Sorry, I know it’s not funny but you just have to laugh anyway. That’s the only way you can get through it. Loved reading about what is going on in your world. Thanks so much for sharing. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    • It is funny really, I can see the funny side now that I have managed to complete the right side with no hitches. Two sleeves next, then the bands around the front! I want to be done by July, when I hope to present it to Miss F.

  4. I really like the colours of the cardigan! It would look great with a plain white tee 🙂

  5. Boredom versus opportunity for mistakes. Mmm? Like the sound of a knitted Bagpuss quite takes me back to when mine were little. I have the DVD!

  6. Undoing work is just so painful isn’t it? At least you have happy reasons for your wonky work.

  7. You do have a lot of projecs on the go but do I detect some self discipline? You are going to finish the cardis before starting Bagpuss, I wonder if you will be able to resist. I love the colours of your cardi by the way.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

