Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

12.5.15 001

So I have crochet and knitting on the go at the moment. The crochet is to be a blanket for Mr B and Ms G who moved into a new flat in early Spring, colours are inspired by the decor and by bees!

Knitting is a cardigan for me. I can’t recall the last thing I made for myself so I am going to enjoy every row. The yarn is Alpaca Tweed by Stylecraft. It feels quite soft to use, but it is mostly acrylic (77%) with short bits of Alpaca (20%) woven in. Not as exciting as I hoped for, but never the less a new yarn for me and my 15 for 2015.

I have just finished reading a book called The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer. A very good book , the main character of which has mental ill health. It has justifiably good reviews and having worked in housing support with people with long term mental health illness, I can verify its portrayal of a difficult subject. BUT, it is harrowing in places and I recommend it only to people in a good place themselves.

Currently reading two books, the history of Rosedale, a moorland dale close by, with a history of glass making and mining. And The Shadow of the Wind , by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, a good book but I am struggling to remember who all the characters are!

Linking with Ginny for Yarn Along

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (9)

  1. Thanks for the link to the Yarn Along. I read the Shadow of the Wind a few years ago and really enjoyed it. Enjoy your knitting too.

  2. The Shadow of the Wind has been on my list for -ages-. Hopefully I can get it in this summer because I finally have a copy! 🙂 Hope you enjoy your reading.

  3. I loved The Shadow of the Wind! I thought the same as you though with the characters…I think I started the book twice before I actually managed to read the whole thing! Well worth the small amount of confusion though 🙂

    • So glad it’s not just me. I think its because the names are unfamiliar and the plot goes backwards and forwards. Still I am about half way through and enjoying it.

  4. It’s great book, when I was moving house one of the removal men asked me what it was about, and I gave it to him, he was so shocked and delighted.My daughter loved it too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

