Life and Thyme!

Yarn Along!

Life is looking better, but fingers crossed still for good news!

I have been reading a lot recently, but rather than bore people with each and every book, I have updated the books 2015 page. Best so far for this year was The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. Consumed in two days flat!

I’ve also been crocheting. The most relaxing and least taxing of my crafts, especially if all I do is granny squares.

Here’s the lap blanket I made Mum for her birthday next month. Hopefully the colour of heather moors.

21.04.15 003

Those blobs be flowers

21.04.15 004

And I am still crocheting blankets, actually got two on the go, here’s one of them.

21.04.15 002

I came across this book at Dad’s house when I was clearing out books. It’s written in the 1960’s when life was very different. The forests were still being planted, for Pit Props! No wonder the National Forests have had to go into the tourism industry to make them pay. Included in the book are several drives and walks, and it mentions good view points. Problem is that now the trees have grown, or in some cases felled, the views are different.  The photos inside are wonderful. Horses are used in the planting and felling, and so many men working in the forests. The only women depicted are enjoying a walk with their children. The women look just like my Mum did in the 60’s. Thoroughly enjoying this little treasure.

Linking with Ginny for Yarn Along

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (6)

  1. Good for you life is looking better!! Your crochet stitches look pretty and the colors are quite Springy and that seems a good thing too! 🙂

  2. I’m glad that things are looking up for you.

    That looks like my kind of book … I do enjoy a glimpse back into the countryside in the past :o)

    • It’s totally fascinating. I had no idea there were so many different types of conifers. It has made me curious to find out how to tell them all apart. I know a Scots pine and a Larch. But that is all.

  3. Love the little flowers on the blanket. Nice soothing colours.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

