Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

St Peter’s Marlborough

We had the pleasure of visiting this lovely church last month whilst we were in Wiltshire. St Peter’s church is no longer used as a place of worship, but instead has become a place for local crafts people to sell their goods and for a cafe. Sadly we had just had coffee so did not sample their wares. Much of the interior remains and it’s major claim to fame is as the church where Cardinal Wolsey ( Henry 8th) was ordained as a priest in 1498.

Let’s go

Theo birthday Feb 2015 014

the windows by the Altar really caught my attention

Theo birthday Feb 2015 003

but not as much as the tiles did

Theo birthday Feb 2015 004

even the wall was painted

Theo birthday Feb 2015 008

Theo birthday Feb 2015 007

loved this too

Theo birthday Feb 2015 006

and this

Theo birthday Feb 2015 009

and here are the craft stalls

Theo birthday Feb 2015 010

I was amazed that I made no impulse purchases, but it was very hard.

Back outside for a final view

Theo birthday Feb 2015 011

Turns out that had I been three days later then I would have bumped into a fellow blogger. Lucky for me she contacted me last week when she was up North and we finally met. Go here to find out what happened when Cathy met Rachel and the trout!!

Joining with Inspired Sunday

Comments on: "St Peter’s Marlborough" (5)

  1. i love the stain glass and all those decorative designs … so amazing! ( :

  2. There sure are a lot of details to catch your eye. Tom The Backroads Traveller

  3. Nice visit though I alway sfeel sad seeing a church end up like that though it is good some of the old memorials and features are still in place, wonder how they would feel If I went round with my tripod. Was the churchyard still there? Not come across any other bloggers when I was out though I did see a couple of women taking photos of Lacock church

    • There is a small churchyard there, well worth a visit, and I don’t think they would mind a tripod, I was very careful not to get the cafe customers in shot.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

