Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Seville Orange curd

Now I was having trouble resisting making marmalade this year, we just don’t eat enough marmalade, but those oranges at this time of year are just so tempting. Then Anne posted her little pot of sunshine and I was undone. I just had to make some. I made a few minor alterations to Anne’s recipe. Mine I suspect is much sweeter, and I think that was a mistake as it lost the marmalade bitterness. But it was very simple so here goes with my version.

50 g butter- cut into small pieces

125g cater sugar

2 small Seville oranges, rind grated and juice thereof

1 large beaten egg.

Place in a small bowl over a pan of simmering water. Stir until melted, then keep going until thickened, around 20 minutes. Gently does it, you don’t want scrambled egg!

Strain if you like, but I wanted the bits so didn’t.

And here you are.

sheep Jan 15 018

One little pot of deliciousness. Bake one Victoria sponge , fill with the orange curd and you have heaven!

sheep Jan 15 019

Supper will now be one hour late- too full of cake!

Comments on: "Seville Orange curd" (6)

  1. Now I need to make another pot so I can eat Victoria sponge too! The trouble is that one small pot just doesn’t last long enough.

  2. An amazing looking cake! Love the idea of orange curd:)

  3. I love lemon curd but have never had orange, it is now on my to do list. Cake looks fab by the way, I think I would have had another piece and forgotton about supper altogether!

  4. Lime curd too!
    The cake looks scrummy.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

