Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Bakes like Berry!

So pleased the Great British Bake Off did well in the TV awards! During January my mind always turns to Marmalade, must be the Seville oranges that appear in the greengrocers. And I always have to tell myself not to make any as we just don’t consume enough of it. I had half a jar in the cupboard, and all of a sudden this week I fancied a marmalade cake. Time to turn to my Mary Berry cookery book. This one is YUM!

Marmalade Traybake

Cake tin 12 x 9 inch or 30x23cm, greased and bottom lined with baking parchement

Oven at 180C (fan 160C) gas 4

175g soft butter

175g caster sugar

175g sultanas

175g currants- I didn’t have any so used up the dried cranberries

3 large eggs

250g SR flour

11/2 tsp baking powder

50g glace cherries

2 level tbsp marmalade

3 tbsp milk

I creamed the butter and sugar, then added the eggs one at a time then the rest of the ingredients. Put in tin and bake for 40-45 minutes.

Enjoy

23.1.15 003

Mr E liked it so much he had TWO pieces! Maybe not as marmaladey as I would have liked but jolly nice after a walk with a cup of tea.

Would love to hear of any other marmalade recipes, if you have any.

 

Comments on: "Bakes like Berry!" (6)

  1. Your cake looks very like something I make. But mine has less marmalade and has golden syrup. The only other marmalade thing I make is a marmalade sponge pudding. Marmalade in the bottom of the dish then ordinary Victoria Sandwich type cake mixture on top. Like syrup sponge but with marmalade!

  2. I reckon you could add some orange zest for extra orange flavour. Sounds like a good recipe.

  3. I’m also thinking of soaking the fruit in a little rum and orange zest overnight, but that turns it into a much richer cake 😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

