Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Autumn leaf project update

First of all a big thank you to everyone who helped me out with comments on my Autumn Leaf stitching project last month. Your suggestions were really helpful. So what did I do? Well, I painted up some more yellow fabric and made some more leaves. I then used machine embroidery to quilt the piece and  added veins to the bigger leaves. Then I made it into a cushion. I do like a cushion!!

Here we go -adding the big new leaf to the centre.

25.11.2014 013

Adding the leaf veins

25.11.2014 015

You can see the machine embroidery too. I really really loved doing this part, I went over and over the fabric loving the texture I was creating.

25.11.2014 014

A little yellow leaf. and the final cushion

25.11.2014 012

I learned such a lot from making this.  I did machine embroidery and it wasn’t scary, it was fun. Design.. have I finally learned that I should plan things put properly before plunging in. This is still on the messy side,too much is well too much!  I don’t think I have finished with autumn leaves by a lone chalk, but less is more.

Mr E still didn’t ask about the pile of leaves in the fireplace. They remained looking lovely, as a result of pressing them between newspapers. I burnt them ceremoniously when I stitched the last stitch. And he hasn’t said a word about the new cushion… being polite or merely unobservant?

Meantime I have started , well am starting a new blog called A voice through stitch which you can access by hoovering over my name top right hand  corner. Or by clicking here I will be posting my next Stitching Project on there very soon. I felt that these rather personal stitching responses to the world around me don’t quite fit in my NanaCathy blog hence the new blog. As always I am technically challenged with what I am trying to do , but hopefully the new blog will be ok. Love it if you went for a visit in the next week or so when I make my first stitch post. Thanks.

Once again thanks for the comments on my autumn leaves and if you care to leave another, well that would make me very happy.

 

Comments on: "Autumn leaf project update" (4)

  1. That looks great. If I were you I’d wave it in front of his nose! But then I’m hardly subtle and demand attention!

    There’s no name to hover on my ipad, can you add a link in this post?

  2. A second blog? You must be mad! Please and a link to it. I can’t seem to find one.
    I love how you’ve painted your own fabric.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

