Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Final Doll Update

Oh yes she is finally finished. Materials purchased circa 30 years ago, worked on mostly this year , driven on by the wish to present Miss F with her very own Nana made rag doll. Meet Mary Jane ( Until Miss F renames her).

19.11.2014 008

Her little face

19.11.2014 009

Her pinafore, see the pleats at the bottom

19.11.2014 011

and the sleeves

19.11.2014 010

there are many imperfections and mistakes. This is quite the hardest bit of sewing I have ever done and I have made trousers for myself and dungarees for Master T,but this was so fiddly and the seam allowances were pathetically  tiny,  but it is made with love, which I hope overcomes the flaws in execution.

Pattern was Simplicity 6147

Joining with Handmade Harbour

 

 

Comments on: "Final Doll Update" (12)

  1. She’s beautiful, and I’m sure she will be very well loved.

  2. She’s beautiful. I have a rag doll my Nan made for me circa 1975 which is still well loved. I shared a picture of it once on her Birthday (my nan’s not the dolls!) The little pleat details remind me of the work that my Nan put into my dollies clothes too.

  3. I am sure she will love her. Absolutely lovely. Lucky girl.

  4. How amazing. A true work of love and well worth it.

  5. That is a beautiful doll.

  6. I bought a rag doll pattern 30 years ago too, but about 15 years ago, I gave up on the idea of ever making one and gave the pattern away. Congratulations to you for following through on a planned project, even if it took a while! 🙂

    • Maybe if I hadn’t bought the fabric too, I would have given the pattern away. I vaguely remember having a cabbage doll pattern as well!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

