Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Bakes Like Berry!

Homage to all the finalists in this years Great British Bake Off! All are amazing.I know who I have my money on.

Mary Berry just goes up and up in my estimation every year. She finds something positive to say about 98% of all the bakes, be it the flavour , texture , rise  colour, or even just the idea. Who can’t be inspired by her?

I have bought myself a couple of her books and I propose to have a go at baking something from them every week, which means that some weeks I won’t manage it.  It’s October now so I think about Autumn, and that to me that means Halloween and ginger. I love Ginger, sometimes going over the top with it a bit. So I shall be tackling some of the ginger recipes. All pretty low level stuff , but yummy I hope.

First off are these Yorkshire Gingernuts

1.1-.14 001

Method

Oven 160C/ gas 3

3 baking trays greased

Heat tog 100g butter and 1 tablespoon golden syrup, until the butter has melted

Mix tog 350g self raising flour, 100g demerara sugar, 100g light muscovado sugar , 1 level tablespoon ground ginger and 1 level teaspoon bicarb of soda

Then add 1 large beaten egg and the butter mix to form a dough.

Form the dough into small balls the size of a walnut and place on trays. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

How I got on

The recipe says it makes 50. My idea of a walnut must be different from Mary Berry’s. I got 22 from the mix and oh boy are they hard to bite into. Ideal for dunking though.My picture looks like the picture in the book.  I would like them more gingery too.

Not quite certain why they are called Yorkshire gingernuts, never seen this recipe anywhere else. and to be honest a disappointing recipe, I have better ginger biscuit recipes.

Have a go, let me know what you think. Are you a Bake Off fan?

 

Comments on: "Bakes Like Berry!" (8)

  1. Have you tried Delia’s chocolate ginger nuts – they are brilliant!

  2. My son has a very old second hand copy of one of her books which he used for his birthday chocolate cake. I love gingery things so interested in the recipes you make but I do need to take care of my teeth. 🙂

  3. With that amount of ginger they should be pretty gingery. At the risk of teaching you how to suck eggs, is your ginger well within its date?
    They look and sound very much like my ‘Cornish Fairings’ recipe which has more mixed spice in them than ginger.

  4. I’ve got a ginger cookie recipe which is delicious, though completely different to these as they are sticky and gooey.
    I think these look fab biscuits for a dunk in a cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

