Life and Thyme!

Was it a mistake to start to buy the magazine Stitch again when I my interest in Embroidery was reawakened? I love the magazine and I love the way it inspires me. BUT I should I have allowed myself to be seduced by

14.8.14 031

him , in issue 88 April- May. I did resist him for as long as I could, but then I found some fabric in my stash and I was undone. Having selected some fabric it was time to design the parts I would be embroidering.

embroidered rabbit 1, aug 14 001

That’s an ear. Then it was time to start stitching. The one in the magazine used 6 strands of thread to give a rustic look. Now I love rustic but 6 strands is beyond rustic! I went for three strands and a homespun look.

embroidered rabbit 1, aug 14 002

I love the idea of using buttons in the centre of the flowers, and found 4 from my button stock. Oddly I have no yellow buttons, so that gives me a mission round the second hand shops.

Here’s a flower in detail. Buttonhole stitch and long stitch. Leaves are long and short stitch. Stem stick for the stems, and a few french knots and lazy daisy stitch thrown in for good measure.

embroidered rabbit 1, aug 14 003

The rabbit in the magazine is made from Cath Kidston fabric and embroidered onto calico. My fabric was a curtain remnant and I embroidered onto curtain lining fabric.

14.8.14 025

After the embroidery comes the sewing bit. Pretty difficult as you have the ears and arms inside the body as you stitch up the rabbit. I can’t understand why I didn’t think to stuff the arms and ears after the construction which would have been much easier, but I went with the instructions.

14.8.14 027

See a pretty tight fit and on the sewing machine was hard.

14.8.14 028

Then you have to get the whole rabbit right side out…

14.8.14 029

Here he comes. Stuff the body and add the legs.

14.8.14 032

Nearly done just add a ribbon. Yes it’s from a chocolate rabbit, I can’t throw away a ribbon with a bell can I….

14.8.14 034

Ain’t he cute?

14.8.14 035

If you would like details of the magazine please go here. The project is by Deena Beverley

And what did Mr E think of him?  Well the rabbit sat all weekend on the sideboard without Mr E even noticing him…. and when I pointed him out ” Very nice!!” was the comment, no wonder I blog!!

So should I have resisted him- Glad I didn’t.What do you think?

Linking with Handmade Harbour andWoolhogs

 

Comments on: "Homespun embroidered Rabbit." (24)

  1. I’m really glad you didn’t resist him, he’s lovely. The embroidery is beautiful. My OH never really has much to say about my crafting, most of the time all I get is an “it’s alright” from him 🙂 Have a lovely week.
    Ali xx

  2. He’s lovely, I am sure you are pleased with him.. isn’t blogging wonderful, connecting lots of creative people together who appreciate the time and effort gone into makes:)

  3. I just love your step by step instructions. Nice to see how knowledgeable and creative people work.

  4. creative pixie said:

    Very pretty, the arms and legs must’ve been hard to turn right side out 😉

  5. He’s gorgeous! “Very nice!” phew, honestly!
    It’s funny how projects in books or magazines can call to you like that, I fear once you have seen them and they have cast their spell you have no choice but to give in and have a go at making them!
    Oh and I have a bunch of those bells in my stash, I used some for Christmas cards last year but still have several. Too good to through away – you just never know when you are going to need a little bell!

  6. He is lovely! My O/H does not have a creative bone in his body. A typical comment is “But what is it for?” or “It’s nothing like a rabbit!”
    I still have a tiny bell and one metal button from my favourite Swiss cardigan when I was 5- do you remember them with the embroidery, bells and pompoms?

  7. sally92013’s comment above made me laugh! I quite often get ‘but it’s nothing like a rabbit/mouse/cat/gecko’ from my Mr Jones!!!
    I’m glad you gave in. He is truely adorable. I love him to bits! He would certainly make me smile.

  8. I like your rabbit better than the one you copied! And yes blogs are a wonderful way of sharing with like minded people. I have a tin full of ribbony bits and the odd bell. I must do some sewing some time.

  9. He looks great, and you are not alone in keeping ribbons bits. I even keep the bits off crackers because you just never know.

    I’ve had the “it’s not a cat it’s a mutant alien” comment too but with my puppets it really doesn’t matter. OH normally does little silly videos to send to the nephews of those!

  10. He’s so cute. I love freehand embroidery and really admire your skills and patience. Have a great crafty week,
    Alison x

  11. He’s really sweet and the amount of detail in the embroidery is fabulous.

  12. well done on trying to make the whole rabbit from scratch. i always dread cutting and sewing up those templates! i like how the personalized embroidery embraces the rabbit, it gives him that extra special look. can i just ask, do you use embroidery hoops when stitching?

    • Many thanks for the lovely comment. The article said to use a hoop, but I prefer not to use a hoop if I don’t think it strictly necessary. I love the feel of hand stitching and like to be as free as possible. I stitch quite slowly so don’t have a problem with distorting the fabric.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

