Life and Thyme!

Luscious Lemons!

Strawberries and raspberries are probably the quintessential taste of summer fruit. However, I love the taste of lemon at this time of year too. This year I have enjoyed making my own luscious lemon treats and I couldn’t believe how easy this first treat is.

Still Lemonade

Remove the rind thinly from three lemons using a potato peeler. Place the rind with 50z of sugar in a large bowl and pour over 1 1/2 pints of boiling water. Cover and leave to cool, stirring occasionally.

Hutton le hole Aug 14 003

Add the juice from the lemons and strain. Serve chilled.

And that is it. That easy and just so refreshing. And lemony. It takes longer to boil the kettle than anything else and the kitchen smelled divine.

Hutton le hole Aug 14 004

 

The next treat takes less than an hour from start to finish, including washing up.

Homemade Lemon Curd

Grated rind and juice of 4 lemons- I like the unwaxed ones

4 medium eggs- organic free range for preference

4 oz butter

12 oz caster sugar

Place all the ingredients in a bowl over simmering water

lemon cake 002

Stir until the sugar is dissolved, and heat gently till the curd thickens. Do not boil under any circumstances or it will curdle, takes 20-30 minutes depending on how cautious you are.

Strain into jars. Keep in a fridge and eat within 2-3 weeks.

lemon cake 003

Lick everything you have used, far too good to waste.

Both my Mum and my most beloved Granny made lemon sandwich cake, and it was only when I made my first batch of lemon curd as a blushing newly wed, that I realized why my Grans was so much better than my Mums, it was the homemade lemon curd.

lemon cake 004

Both recipes sourced from my Cookery Bible- Good Housekeeping

Time for tea. Hope you are enjoying some lovely seasonal flavours wherever you are. Love to hear about them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

