Life and Thyme!

Stitching Project- May

I love the sea. You can tell that from the many pictures I take whenever we go to the coast. I love it blue, I love it turquoise and I even love grey of the North Sea.

I love it calm and stormy. I love it when the sun shines and when it doesn’t. I love sunsets and sunrises over the sea,

but best of all I like the White Horses.

So this month I decided to stitch a Seashore Fantasy

First find some fabric and threads

my hot air ballon pics 2014 001

I had this selection bought a number of years ago from Kates Kloths. Sadly this firm doesn’t seem to exist anymore.

my hot air ballon pics 2014 002

I began by Couching the thicker threads, then added French Knots. Then I added the small white shell.

Riveaulx terrace-May 2014 003

I added ribbon and silver thread, it lacked something. More rooting through my stash.

28.5.14 005

Left over from a previous project were some small stones. I think that’s it. Sometimes it’s hard to know when I have finished. So here we have have Seashore Fantasy.

28.5.14 006

Love to hear your feedback. Joining with http://lolanovablog.blogspot.co.uk/

You may need to click on the picture to see it in all its glory!!

Ravenscar-aug 12 003

Comments on: "Stitching Project- May" (13)

  1. Your piece is stunning, I love the techniques and colours you’ve used 🙂

  2. This is exquisite! Have you done this sort of work before or have I missed it? I love all the different textures and the ribbons. I love how you’ve incorporated the shell. You’ve made me miss the sea!!!! A beautiful piece.

    • That is such a lovely comment, you have no idea how much it means to me. Many years ago I completed Part 1 C&G creative embroidery course. But the need to earn money etc took over and before I knew I had lost my creativity. I am tentatively trying to find my own “voice”. Thank you so much.

  3. Very pretty and I also have trouble stopping the embellishment process. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Tamara

    • Thanks Tamara for the positive comment, it means a lot to me, the stitching project pieces are my most personal ones.

  4. What an amazing piece of work! I love that it can be hung up to enjoy all the time!

  5. Beautiful photographs and such a lovely stitching project. So imaginative!

  6. It really is beautiful, so many textures all brought together works wonderfully.

  7. The sea is very calming when it is calm…when it gets upset …beware 🙂

  8. Stunning! Really wonderful work!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

