Life and Thyme!

My first Tote bag!

Making this tote bag has quite simply filled me with admiration for the sewers on the Great British Sewing Bee. How they make anything in the time allowed  is amazing. It takes me three hours just to get my head around a pattern and the instructions…

I fell in love with these fabrics when I stumbled across this website at  African fabrics

So when Mr E asked me what I wanted for Christmas I pointed him in their direction and a BIG HINT that I would like to make a bag.

So I was very happy to receive this

19.1.14 001

unpack it a bit more to reveal

19.1.14 002

some gorgeous glass buttons. The instructions were adequate, but as a bit of a novice I needed a bit of thinking time. You have to wash the fabrics before you begin, which proved to be highly necessary as the indigo fabric was very stiff before washing, but frayed quite a bit in the machine. There was sufficient fabric but not an over generous amount.

By February I was finally underway.

12.2.14 009

And this week I got my TAHDAH moment

30.3.14 004

The bag is reversible and indeed mine would be but that would have meant that the strap was just tied in place through a button hole which didn’t seem very secure to me. So after I had used the pretty buttons on the flap

30.3.14 005

I used one to secure the handle

30.3.14 006

What I hadn’t realized when I started was that the pattern fabric side is also quilted. I have never machine quilted so opted to hand quilt- proved ideal when watching said sewing bee.

Final touch is a matching purse

30.3.14 007

Thoroughly enjoyed making the bag  and would recommend the kit.

Joining with Handmade Harbour to day. Do check out the other lovely makes there.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "My first Tote bag!" (13)

  1. Great work! I’m hopeless at proper sewing and wish I was better at it!

  2. Very nice Cathy! I especially love the beads. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  3. I got slightly distracted, and have spent 10 minutes looking round the African fabric shop. Really lovely. I want to shop there. Love the contrast of the fabrics.

  4. What a great bag! I love that it all comes in a kit.

  5. So are you now a converted bag maker? Lovely bag??

  6. Love your bag. So very satisfying to carry your own work around with you!

  7. Love this bag and the fabric you used. Very pretty!

  8. Well done on your first tote bag, and welcome to the wonderful world of bag making. It’s very addictive so one will never be enough xx

  9. What a fabulous gift to receive, the fabrics are amazing.

  10. pretty! I love the fabric you’ve used. I’m rubbish at sewing, I watch GBSB every week in awe lol

  11. Very pretty that fabric and a really good first bag make!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

