Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Decoupage Boxes.

I love pretty boxes, so I decided to try my hand at making a decoupage box. I got a kit…first construct your box. Disaster! The glue complexly distorted the box even though I followed the instructions to the letter,held the whole thing together with pegs, etc etc. Into the bin it went.

Then I found some of those treasures all Mums keep from their children’s childhood- drawings, cards, curls etc in a battered old shoe box. I needed something better for the treasures. Into action went Plan B.Β  I found a suitable box in my local craft shop- strong card, just the job for decoupage. Remembering the previous effort I also bought two smaller ones to experiment on.

First I painted the two small boxes with acyclic paint, one pink and one green.The I found a pretty picture for the top. The result was pleasing. So far ,so good…

I attempted the large box- painted the box with blue and the lid white. The lid took 4 coats of white paint!!Β  The lid is now on the very tight side. Then I wasn’t sure how to decorate it and opted for some football wrapping paper. Not too certain about the finished result.

I love the small boxes but the large one might have been better made of wood.

Anyway have a look at the pictures and let me know what you think

19.1.14 021

19.1.14 022

19.1.14 02319.1.14 024

19.1.14 025

19.1.14 02619.1.14 027

Now here are some wooden boxes which I think I might use..here

Better for the big one do you think..

Look what this lady did here

Stunning hey?

Joining with Handmade Monday

Comments on: "Decoupage Boxes." (9)

  1. Handbagsbyhelen said:

    Great idea

  2. Your boxes look lovely and it’s nice to have somewhere to stash those memories!

  3. Lovely boxes, I think the pink one is my favourite.

  4. I’ve made covered boxes and find that the smaller ones keep their shape so much better. Larger boxes need to be strengthened at the corners.

    Jan x

  5. I love all the boxes. I remember decoupage in High School; I loved it. πŸ™‚

  6. Very nice. I think the one I like best is the floral one. Looks lovely against the pale green.

  7. Decopatch is one of my favourite craft’s, it can be a very relaxing activity, I get some of my boxes from Hobbycraft they are a little firmer than others I’ve tried. Don’t give up I’d love to see which box you choose and the end result. Thanks for the link to Handmade Monday, what a brilliant idea πŸ™‚

  8. Shirley Ann said:

    Your boxes are so pretty πŸ™‚ It’s been years since I did some decoupage, I used to do quite a lot. I have been itching to do a bit of late but had no clue where to get the wooden blanks – thanks so much for the link!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

