Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

I decided to be a bit more ambitious with my knitting. HUMPH! I quickly remembered why I hated patterns with Yfwds, sl1 and psso. I can’t concentrate on the pattern and watch TV at the same time. Moreover the pattern I choose has the back and fronts in one piece, so I started with 108 stitches. EEEK! It’s all my fault that I had to re do the first three rows three times and have unpicked subsequent rows twice, and you can see how far I have got. Not exactly a lot, and not exactly complicated.

Take a look.

15.1.14 002

Moreover the yarn, which was the one shown on the pattern, doesn’t exactly show the pattern much at all. The good part is the pattern bit is over, finished, finito, complete, stocking stitch all the way from now on.

I bow my head in reverence to all the knitters who make gorgeous flimsy and complicated shawls. You are the Masters.

15.1.14 001

Turning swiftly the reading part of a yarn along, I have started The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory which tells the story of Jacquetta, who became the mother of a Queen, Grandmother of another Queen, Great Grandmother of Henry8th and so Great great grandmother of Elizabeth 1st. It is first and foremost a novel as there is little written historically about Lady Rivers. However Jacquetta was tried as a witch and there is a sub plot around strong women with knowledge of herbs and medicine, wise women who are accused of witch craft. Most interesting is that Jacquetta appears to have witnessed the tribulations and burning of Joan of Arc, somehow I had not connected up the Henry’s in my mind to realise the timescale of the Plantagenet’s. If you like historical novels this one is well written and I would recommend it.

Joining with Ginny for Yarn Along.

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (14)

  1. It is the reason I like knitting socks – the majority of the knitting is just tubes and can be done without looking at all.
    Yours is a lovely pattern, though.

  2. I feel the same way about lace and shawls. I now before those who can….but at my knitting level it’s no fun and terribly frustrating!

  3. A very pretty pattern to go along with a beautiful yarn. I don’t like all those yarn forwards and backwards and twist arounds and… I love simply knitting in the round!

  4. It’s beautiful! Sounds like a really interesting book.

  5. I’m liking the sound of the book. Totally get your frustration with the knitting, however love the colouring of the wool you used:)

  6. Well done for persevering and getting through the pattern bit, at least you can knit and view in a more relaxed fashion now.

  7. I love the yarn you are using. The pattern is very pretty.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

