Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

At this time of year you can’t beat a good book and some knitting.

1.1.14 007

A trip to the library before Christmas yielded a haul of no less than 3 books by Philippa Gregory. Perfect winter reading. Oh was I happy!

Last year ended in a frantic rush to finish all the craft projects- knitting, sewing, crochet, decorations etc etc- .In fact I felt like I was on  a production line .This wasn’t  being  creative. I am not certain in my anxiety to get things done I even enjoyed them over much.

So I have thought a lot. I observed how I started a new knitting project the moment Christmas was over. I knitted so fast I scarcely took in what I was doing, how it felt to be actually knitting a garment for a precious little girl.

So I made the conscious decision to SLOW DOWN, to feel the yarn ,to look at the colours, to enjoy what I am making, what matters it if it takes 4 weeks instead of 3 to complete.

And that is the one resolution I have made myself this year, to enjoy the process of making, to be more creative in my crafts.

1.1.14 008

See how pretty these colours are. Yarn is Sirdar Crofter.

Linking with Ginny for Yarn Along.

 

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (8)

  1. Glad you said that about slowing down because I actually like to read books slowly and knit and crochet at a comfortable pace and savour the moment but notice that other people seem to achieve so much more in the same time and that has been making me feel guilty lately becaue I don’t go a breakneck pace.

    • Don’t go at break neck speed will you? I have enjoyed my knitting so much more this last week. With my other crafts i want to take more time too and get some originality going. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart said:

    Great resolution! I always find myself wanting to enjoy crafting more while feeling like I have to get more done faster.

  3. I’m taking a little trip to the library tomorrow Nan Cathy … will have a little look for Philippa while I’m there! Love the colours of the yarn, reminds me of ice cream …

    Have a great New Year and thanks for dropping into Thriftwood, you’re always welcome!

    Love Claire xxx

  4. That yarn is just lovely! I’m always trying to work on slowing down too. Maybe that’s why Christmas knitting isn’t done yet 😉 Enjoy the reading and the time spent working with that pretty yarn!

  5. I just read The Red Queen and The White Queen, and then I had to read Alison Weir’s non-fiction book The Princes in the Tower to find out more about what happened! My whole knowledge of English history is based on Phillipa Gregory novels. 🙂

    • Lovely to hear from another fan of Philippa Gregory, although she doesn’t let facts get in the way of a good story! I loved the White Queen, but am waiting for the Red Queen to be in the library when I go. The Kingmakers daughter was most enjoyable with a different look at Richard the third.

  6. I loved The Kingmakers daughter! Your yarn colour is very pretty, I’m glad you’re taking time to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

