Life and Thyme!

Marmalade Brownies

I can’t resist supermarket free magazines and the recipes within, which I like to try with mixed results.  Usual comments are

“It’s ok but I wouldn’t want it again”

or ” Nice, but I prefer …. that you make”.

These brownies are the exception. Recipe taken from the Co-op September/ October magazine- this one’s a keeper.

21.11.13 022

100g butter

3 eggs

150g light brown sugar

150g dark chocolate ( sshh I used Lidl chocolate- much cheaper!)

100g SR flour

25g chopped walnuts

3 tbsp nice marmalade

Oven 180C/350F/Gas mark 4

Grease and line a shallow square tin (mine was 8″)

Beat the eggs and sugar together in a large bowl.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl over a pan of simmering water. Stir into the egg mixture.

Add flour, nuts and marmalade to the mix and stir until combined.

Pour into prepared tin, bake for 30-35 minutes. Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes. Turn onto cooling rack. Cut into squares when cold. The recipe says makes 12- I made 16!

They are delicious- some bites are pure brownie, then you get ones with the crunch of the walnuts, but the most delicious are the bites with a bit of gooey gorgeous marmalade.

Linking with Heather for what I am eating

Do check out the lovely food there

I made my Christmas cake last week- this week I am hoping to make some carrot chutney and maybe a Christmas pudding. Love to know what’s cooking in your kitchen this week.

Comments on: "Marmalade Brownies" (2)

  1. Interesting. I have a ‘Bara Brith’ / light fruit cake recipe with marmalade in that is very nice. Must find time to try this.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

