Life and Thyme!

Yarn Along!

13.11.13 010

It’s that time of year, when I get out my Christmas books and magazines for inspiration on “what to make this year”. As always I left this research TOO LATE. It is now a questions of “what do I have time to make” rather than ” what would I like to make”. If I was to make what I would like to make I should start now for Christmas 2014, but I can at least start with a Christmas cake, and by finishing off this jumper for Master T.

Last year we had a “quiet Christmas”, this year it is going to be a wonderfully , fabulously NOISY CHRISTMAS, with two sons , partners, three grandchildren ,one Great Grandad,  me and Grandad E. I CAN’T WAIT….

I finished Tom Sawyer and have moved onto Hucklebury Finn. Two quotes from Tom Sawyer to ponder on..

Tom is given the task of whitewashing a fence on a Saturday morning in retribution for a miss demeanor. He cons the local children into doing it for him by saying what fun it is. “If he had been a great and wise philosopher,.. he would have comprehended that work consists of whatever a body is obliged to do, and that play consists of whatever a body is not obliged to do”.

Huckleberry and Tom find real treasure and are rich. Huck is given a decent home, clothes and education. However, Huck concludes” being rich ain’t what it’s cracked up to be. It’s just worry and worry, and sweat and sweat, and a-wishing you was dead all the time. ” He prefers the freedom to do and go where he wants, when he wants without the hassle of nice clothes, speaking and behaving well, doing as he is told etc etc….

Joining with Ginny who hosts Yarn Along.

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (2)

  1. How lovely to have a noisy Christmas to look forward to. I alternate with noisy and quiet Christmases too. This year my daughter is at her Dad’s so we will be doing ‘quiet’. However we are ringing in the changes this year and me and the OH are GOING OUT for Christmas diner. We will be taking our walking shoes and after a good few bottles of wine, will walk the 3 miles back from the lovely pub we have booked.
    Would still prefer a noisy one though !!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

