Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

I would never have thought that joining up blocks for a crochet blanket could be so much fun, but it is. To see it growing- literally before my eyes,is as exciting as seeing the flowers grow in the garden. I have started from the centre and am working out- here is where I am .

crochet blanket1 003

I edged each block with the same wool as I am using to join them together. It is

crochet blanket1 007

And it is brilliant for when I need to add a few more crochet stitches to get the blocks right- some being slightly bigger/smaller than the norm of 6″ square. You can’t see them! Also it adds more green to the garden and gives texture as it is variegated- just like a garden.

crochet blanket1 006

I edged each square with 14 DCs ( SC-US) with one chain between each- sometimes there was a bit of ducking and diving going on with two chains occasionally or 15 DCs- but it doesn’t seem to show! A purist would spot it…. I am using a flat braid to join them.

crochet blanket1 004

But all in all it looks OK to me

crochet blanket1 005

Right, just about got time to do one more before I go off to work!

If you click on the pictures you can see it better.

 

Comments on: "Cottage Garden Crochet Blanket-update" (9)

  1. This is a gorgeous blanket. The color for the edging is a beautiful color.

  2. I love it! Very crafty use of that varigated green.

  3. Lovely to see it coming together!

  4. Looks lovely. All green and growing. πŸ™‚

  5. It’s looking fabulous, very cottage garden indeed.

  6. This is really pretty πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you everyone for your appreciation!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

