Life and Thyme!

Crochet Along Update

Last year I joined Rachel for a crochet along of 200 crochet blocks- which turned out to be less than that, but who worries.Β  The theme was Cottage Garden. We finished in June and took a summer break. September was for preparing the blocks for Join Along. I looked at a lot of gardens this year to decide what made a garden into a Cottage Garden. Colour was predominate , but also an exuberance of life , and far more green in a garden than I thought. So I used a lot of green wool in my blocks and also have opted for green for crocheting all the blocks together.

September was not an easy month in many ways, family to support whilst being busy in the garden, the kitchen and at work. Crocheting the edges of the blocks was wonderfully relaxing, and so it is appropriate to link in with Frontier Dream, Stay Calm and Keep Crafting

Here is the box of blocks ready for joining

15.10.2013 009

One thing I have realized is that all of us who participated in this project have a different approach to life, and a different take on Cottage Garden . I am filled with admiration for those who know exactly which block is going where and have planned the finished project in detail.

I take a more organic approach- of this will look good against this, and have no idea what the finished “Garden” will look like, here is the start..

15.10.2013 010

And yes looking a bit like a garden perhaps, do you think? Check out Rainbow Junkie Corner for her very different approach.

 

Comments on: "Crochet Along Update" (16)

  1. Looking forward to seeing ‘how your garden grows’. πŸ™‚

    • It is fun seeing it come together . I had got to not liking my blocks, but when I came back to them I was pleasantly surprised by them, and I am loving creating the finished garden!

  2. Love the colours you have used for your cottage garden blanket, so pretty and relaxing. It will be like having summer all year round.

  3. To me, a cottage garden is always a bit of a jumble, so perhaps a strict plan would be out of keeping!!

  4. Looking really good πŸ™‚ can’t wait to see finish product πŸ™‚ x

  5. i like the way your garden is looking, will you tie it in with a solid color?? like Rainbow did??

  6. Beatiful colours, I look forward to see it complete, what a greta idea for a balnket
    Clare

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

