Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Plums!

This week has mostly been about Plums! Yesterday I made Plum Chutney.

20.9.13 001

And there it is- I have run out of my little jars with spotty lids and have had to recycle some shop bought jars.

Here’s the recipe- I sort of mixed up several I found on the internet, and then changed a few ingredients for those I had in the cupboard. It should now be left for a month or so to mature, but I did taste a bit left on the spoon, in the pan.. and it was so nice!

1 1/2 lbs plums halved and stones discarded

2 onions chopped1/4 lb raisins

1/2 lb soft brown sugar

1/4tsp chilli powder

1/4 tsp mustard

5 1/2 fl oz cider vinegar

51/2 fl oz red wine vinegar

pinch of cinnamon

Put everything into the pan, bring to boil and then reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, cook for an hour- an hour and a half, until liquid had mostly gone and you have a nice looking chutney! Pot into hot sterilized jars, and keep in a cool dark place.

Linking in with Heather at Townsend House for some lovely food

Do check the site out. Have you any good plumy ideas?

Comments on: "Plums!" (6)

  1. I was surprised to see onions as part of prep.

  2. I’ve never made chutney though I’ve always meant too. Looks like it should be delicious.

  3. I love homemade chutney. Unfortunately I’m the only one who does in this house and even I can’t get through four jars. So i usually hope one of my friends has made some a do a swap with some of my jam. Yours sounds delicious

    • I succumbed last night and opened the first jar to have with my sausages! Oh it is GOOOOD!

      I will most likely give two jars away- one to my Dad and one to Mr T

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

