Life and Thyme!

Tomatoes!

And more and and more tomatoes, just about sums up my week. Mr E has excelled himself this year with loads and loads and loads, and I can’t bear to waste one! So it has been like a tomato soup factory in my kitchen this week- I am running out of containers for any more. We have eaten lots of tomato salads and these lovely Santorini  inspired tomato balls which look more like fritters to me but who cares, when they are delicious and easy to make. Here ‘s the pic with recipe at the end.

tree sept 13 002

Santorini Tomato Balls

2 1/4lb ripe tomatoes seeded and diced- sprinkle with salt and leave to drain for 1-2 hours

2 onions- grated, sprinkle with salt, rinsed and squeezed to remove excess water

1/2 cup chopped fresh mint or parsley

1 teaspoon oregano

6oz ( 1 1/2 cups) self raising flour

oil for frying

Mix together the tomatoes, onions, herbs and flour.

Heat oil in frying pan ( recipe suggest to the depth of one inch but I used less with no problems)

Add tablespoons of the mixture and fry in batches until golden brown on both sides. Remove with slotted spoon and drain on paper towels.

Recipe from Vefa’s Kitchen, published by Phaidon

 

I served them with salad, new potatoes and grilled crispy bacon. YUM!

And that dear readers is why there has been a blog silence from me all week.

Linking up with Heather at Townsend House where you can find more scrummy food

 

Comments on: "Tomatoes!" (7)

  1. Like the idea, but I don’t think Mr Snail would eat them… back to passata making for me!

  2. oooo that sounds very yummy. glad that you are making the most of them. We are doing the same with plums and apples.

  3. They look so yummy, I love home grown tomatoes, we like to make tomato sauce with fresh basil and have it with pasta. I am sad to say we did not grow any this year.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

