Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Yarn Along!

St Gregory's Minster Aug 2013 032

My knitting is coming along nicely for the New Little Somebody ( For whom I have Pink Thoughts!). This creation however is in cream with the sweetest little motif on the front, which you can just about see- it is not complete yet, but can you tell what it might be? Last night I finished the second sleeve, so maybe ready for a final show next week.

Meantime I have finished all 900+ pages of Parade’s End by Ford Madox Ford. Set immediately, before , during and after the First World War, it followed the experience of one man and his family. In essence it can be summed up with the phrase “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned”! The woman being the hero’s wife who makes his life a total disaster zone, wrecking his reputation, his career in the civil service and in the army, whilst refusing to divorce him until the final chapter! It is written in four parts which were published 2 years apart, so the structure is very bizarre with lots of repetitions  of events told from all characters perspective. Over 900 pages this was exceptionally irritating. The parts which covered life in the trenches was illuminating in someway as it told of problems with equipment, transport etc- sounded very similar to problems with sand in rifles in Afghanistan- clearly the army doesn’t learn from the past! Do I recommend the book an emphatic No- but the TV series by the BBC was enjoyable and told the tale from A-Z with no repetitions!

So it was with great joy I started The Rose Labyrinth by Titania Hardie.   I got over the author’s name which has to be a pen name doesn’t it, and started to read. Nicely written it is best described as Kate Mosse meets Dan Brown, I just hope that it doesn’t let me down with a disappointing end… more next week.

Joining with Ginny  for

Love to know if you have read either of the books I mentioned and what you are reading now. Do drop by and see what everyone else is doing this week.

Comments on: "Yarn Along!" (9)

  1. I’m not part of this read and knit yarn along but I have to agree that I get very disappointed if I read a book and then the end is a let down. Felt that way about Dan Brown’s “The Da Vinci code.”

  2. might have to see the bbc series and I will avoid the book, phew! Loved your summary and enjoyed the plot line. yay for second sleeve knitting!!!

    • TV series yes, book no, for certain sure. Have started the first button band – the end is in sight!, thanks for dropping by.

  3. Is that motif a cloud?

  4. Well thanks for the “heads up” no, i won’t be reading that book with 900 pages, that’s out of my league…I love books that are straightforward and keep me engaged and fast reading lol

  5. Reading and knitting . . . what a lovely time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

