Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Well hasn’t the weather in the UK been just wonderful! Lots of sitting out in the sunshine, and even nicer for me is that Mr B and Ms G came to stay- they were going to a wedding of an old school friend of Mr B’s.

Here they are sat outside in the garden- which looks a bit wild around the edges on account of us being away.. had I mentioned that?

13.7.2013 016

And here they are in wedding finery.

13.7.2013 018

Poor Mr B- in all those clothes as he was an usher!

July is rather birthday heavy so I made some cards before we went away- had I mentioned going away before?

13.7.2013 008

These ones are all about recycling and using what is to hand.

13.7.2013 010

This one has a Star Anise in the corner- the ribbon is recycled from some packaging- paper from my paper stash.

13.7.2013 011

This one the same- the piece of string is recycled too.

13.7.13.2 001

Ribbon recycled packaging and the dried orange is a left over one from some I dried for a Christmas wreath in 2011.

Do you like?

Let me leave you with one more picture of Mr B and Ms G- they make such a nice couple don’t you think?

13.7.2013 019

Hope you all had a lovely weekend too.

Linking in with Handmade Harbour, Handmade Monday

Comments on: "Family Weekend, Handmade Monday!" (27)

  1. I love the cards – and the fact that they are recycled just makes them better. Phew to wearing a suit in this weather!!

  2. Great way to make some cards. I like making things with what is already in the house. Have a lovely crafty week.

  3. ‘Recycled’ cards are my favourite kind.
    Lovely weather for a wedding 🙂

    Jan x

  4. Lovely cards and what a lovely couple Mr B and Ms G make.

    By the way, have you by any chance been away…. 🙂

  5. Thanks for your message about Moses. You have made me think about doing another giveaway, as that was quite a while ago. Your cards look great, and must smell nice too.

    • A bit aniseedy to be honest! You have to like aniseed and I don’t really, but they look pretty- the orange is nice tho’. I love Moses the Mule!

  6. Really? You’ve been on holiday?
    Love the cards… use to make all of my own but have lapsed recently.

    • I love making cards- and I have so much stashed material I am trying to use it this year. Love to see some of your cards- maybe with snails?

      • I don’t think I’ve ever made snail cards, but now you suggest it, I’m inspired!
        I too have a huge stash of card-making materials… time to make use of them I think!

  7. Liking the look of your cards – very topical and I really like the fact that you have used some organic bits too. A lovely change from the norm.

  8. Hello and thank you for your recent visit to my “Victorian Girls Room” post at Victorian Wanna Be. I really appreciate your comment.
    Have a great week,
    Gina

  9. Cathy,

    I love the recycled cards. Very cool! Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs, Tamara

  10. Lovely couple and so are the cards. I really like the idea of using something so organic as the star anise and orange. They are so pretty!

  11. Lovely cards….some great ideas for using up bits and pieces. I particularly like the one with star anise.

  12. Love the cards – extra nice that they’ll end up as very individual due to the ‘ingredients’!! Sue

  13. I like the cards they’re unique and just a little bit quirky 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

