Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Strawberry Pavlova

I wrote a bucket list this year. Today I can cross off Make a Pavlova. Remarkably simple and oh so yummy!

22.6.13 009

Recipe from my stalwart cookery book Good Housekeeping

Ingredients

3 egg whites ( mine are free range and large)

6 oz caster sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

1/2tsp white wine vinegar- ( I didn’t have any so missed this out- No-one said but what about the vinegar when they scoffed it down)

1 level tsp cornflour

10fl oz double cream

12 oz raspberries- but I used a big punnet of strawberries (English Herefordshire ones to be precise)

NB can use any fruit really

 

Draw a 7 inch circle on some non stick baking parchment paper, turn it over and place on a baking tray.

Whisk the egg whites until stiff- ie a peak stays in place on an upside down whisk.

Whisk in half the caster sugar- until stiff

Fold in with a large metal spoon the rest of the caster sugar, vanilla and vinegar. Pile onto the paper within the circle

Bake in the bottom shelf of an oven at 150C , 300F or Gas mark 2, until crisp and dry

Transfer with great care to a wire rack until completely cool. Then with even more care upend and remove the paper.

I put mine onto the serving plate to remove and used the bottom for the top!

Whisk the double cream till stiff and pile onto the meringue base. Decorate with strawberries- eat any left over ones and deny the fact to family!

All tuck in!

Linking in with Handmade Monday

and Townsend House- what I am eating

Do check them out for lovely homemade goodnesses!

Let me know if you make a pavlova!

Comments on: "Strawberry Pavlova" (30)

  1. This Pavlova looks delish!

  2. I haven’t made meringue for a while – had quite a craze of doing it a few years ago when I had an Aga. Agas (and Aga types) are just so brilliant for making them – must try with my Esse!

  3. Looks delicious! Strawberries are a bit late this year but supposed to be even better than normal. Maybe you need to make a few more!

  4. Looks very yummy and summery! (patchwork fairy)

  5. Ooh yum. I’m now officially hungry!

  6. Wish I could send you some.

  7. So why have you waited for so long? 😉

  8. How funny. I have a strawberry pavlova lined up for tea. We went fruit-picking this afternoon, and also used the Good Housekeeping recipe. Mine does not look as good as yours.

  9. Looks great!! I love passionfruit and mango on top of my pavlova. Yum 🙂

  10. Oooo, my tummy is rumbling now…..

  11. I love pavlova and yours looks lovely. It’s a shame I can’t pop round and try a slice!
    Have a creative week.

  12. It looks amazing!
    Now all we need is some weather to match 🙂

  13. Thanks- wish I had a way of sharing it now

  14. Thanks for sharing that Pavlova looks yum

  15. That looks very yummy! May have to try it myself

  16. Mm, looks mouth-watering yummy.

  17. I haven’t written out a bucket list but “make a Pavlova” would be on it if I did. Now is the time with beautiful summer fruit at the Farmer’s Market.

  18. Oo, I love pavlova

  19. Ooooo I love Pavlova, Thank you for the recipie, just popped over from Handmade Monday

  20. Pavlova is yummy but I’ve never made it myself, I’ll be bookmarking this recipe to give it a go, thank you.

    Jan 🙂

  21. Your pavlova looks delicious, and would go so well with a cup of coffee!
    Wendy x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

