Life and Thyme!

I am actually quite pleased with how this project turned out. It all started last year when I spotted this picture in a Woman’s Weekly Craft magazine.

15.6.2013 001

I just needed to do something similar. The first thing was to source a suitable frame. The one in the magazine came from Marks & Spencer and cost £25. Too much. But the Range stocked one which I liked even more and at a fraction of the price. Fast forward one year… and time to get cracking! First thing- assemble fabric, trimmings, saved objects and start to make my selection.

11.6.13 003

Note that box of trimmings on the right- salvaged with permission by Mr E from a firm that made bikinis- samples of trimmings, ribbons, buttons, etc etc. Clever Mr E.

Starting to make my choice..

11.6.13 006

Fabric from friends-ask anyone who makes pretty dresses for girls if you can have their off cuts.. I ended up using two such off cuts as background fabric, plus some home hand dyed silk ( by me). Keep all bits and pieces from chocolates, stationary gift boxes, cosmetics, broken beads and brooches. The fabric and trimmings are all sellotaped at the back, I have sewn on the buttons, fabric flowers and bells. The brooch was given to me by my Mother and comes from Switzerland and is just pinned on. What I like is that without too much trouble I can make other such pictures for the frame – maybe on an Autumn or Winter theme.

And here it is !

15.6.2013 002

How does it compare to my inspiration picture?

15.6.2013 003

It now has pride of place in my bedroom.

Linking in with Handmade Monday over at Handmade Harbour

Pink Saturday

Comments on: "Vintage inspired picture!" (35)

  1. Wow this is great how you managed to create your own frame and turned it into your own unique piece.

    Best wishes
    Selenarte

  2. Your picture is lovely. A great way to use up bits and pieces and display little trinkets that may otherwise be a in a box or drawer.

  3. I love it! What a great way to make a decoration using all the materials you like. A great idea and a very well made piece.

  4. cross(stitch)yourheart said:

    I like yours better than the picture actually. The charms really add a nice dynamic.

  5. This is so pretty! It looks very similar to the inspiration piece, and for a fraction of the price, so good! xx

    http://www.jessthetics.wordpress.com

  6. Such a clever idea – yours looks lovely. I love that you can use personal things to fill the frame.

  7. I really like your picture, and am very impressed that you still remembered you wanted to make it after a year – I’m terrible at starting something and never finishing!

  8. Great idea Cathy! Thanks for sharing. Hugs, Tamara

  9. I like this a lot. Especially as it is easy to change as and when you feel like it.

  10. What a beautiful creation! Well done 🙂 Simmi x

  11. I love your version of the frame, it’s really pretty. It’s a great idea to link them to the seasons. Thanks for sharing.
    Ali x

  12. Excellent! I prefer yours. You’ll be on the look out for old frames to do up everywhere you go now! 🙂

    • Oh you know me too well- I was in a charity shop today and looking at old frames and wondering what I could do with them!!

  13. How pretty and good for you getting such a bargain frame. I like how you’ve put the components together, well done.

  14. Loving your interpretation so nice that you can include pieces that mean something to you.

    • It does make it a bit more special. One of the pieces of fabric was the leftover from a cushion I made for my inherited grand daughter!

  15. So pretty! And that box is my kind of salvage 🙂

  16. This seems like a good way to make some original artwork. It looks very pretty 🙂

  17. You are a very talented and creative lady. Your frame is beautiful.

  18. Very pretty and I’m with you – your frame is even nicer.

  19. Very nice idea! I really like it….cheerful and sentimental!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

