Life and Thyme!

Banana and Nut cake!

There were two overripe bananas in the fruit bowl this morning just begging to made into cake!

I found this recipe in one of my recipe books- this one here  and away I went.

The Recipe is called Banana Nut Bread , but it is cake!!

6oz sugar

4ox butter

Cream together

Add 2 eggs and beat

Mash two bananas and add to the mix with 12oz Self raising flour, 1 teaspoon of bicarb of soda and 3 tablespoons of milk. Mix.

Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence and 6 oz chopped walnuts ( I only had 4oz so I added some chopped almonds instead). Mix.

Oven at 350F or 180C or Gas mark 4.

Line and grease a 2lb loaf tin. Spoon in mixture and bake.The recipe says 40-45 mins but mine took 1 1/4 hours!

The recipe says cool then slice and spread with butter.

I preferred mine without butter.

11.6.13 008

YUM- my sort of crafting! Linking in with Keep Calm and craft on at Frontier Dreams

 

Comments on: "Banana and Nut cake!" (6)

  1. I definitely think baking/cooking is crafting! And I would love for you to share this at what i am eating http://www.townsend-house.com/2013/06/what-i-am-eating-31.html

  2. looks yummy. i have a load of ripe bananas waiting for something… maybe this cake. 🙂

  3. now that does look lovely 🙂 I love bananas, however, just trying to sort a flour that I can use, as I have to have gluteen free.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

