Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

I love to find a piece of wrapping paper which will provide me with images for cards. When I found one on a gardening theme I knew I was onto a winner. What I hadn’t appreciated was that I could use the pictures to create cards to suit individual gardening styles. Allow me to show you.

My Mum was in charge of all things floral, and I use the phrase advisedly as woe betide any weed that came in to her flower beds! My Dad had the veggie garden and grew some mighty fine strawberries and peas. The peas weren’t as good as Uncle John’s which was well for my Dad because my friend Jane and I spent many a happy half hour eating Uncle John’s peas in situ so to speak!

So here is a card for my Dad on Father’s Day

5.6.13 004

Mr E has a birthday soon, he aspires to a garden like this one

5.6.13 002

We even have a wheelbarrow that looks like this !

Mr T has a birthday soon too. His garden is full of pretty shrubs and grass for the children to play on and he likes a tidy garden.

5.6.13 003

Mr J always likes to be busy, can’t sit still for a second. Busy busy busy as he says himself.

5.6.13 006

And finally one for my Mum.

5.6.13 005

I loved the seed packet image and added a few of our old seeds to the collage! (2004 on the seed packet, so most likely wouldn’t have germinated).

The butterflies came from a sheet of paper in an old craft magazine!

Here are all the cards together

5.6.13 001

Not bad for a mornings work and half a sheet of wrapping paper.

Joining with Handmade Monday. Do check out all the other super projects!

Comments always welcome- they are the best bits after all.

PS I didn’t forget my other son Mr B- he only has a balcony and doesn’t like gardening at all…yet!

Comments on: "Handmade cards-gardening theme" (11)

  1. Judging by your cards that wrapping paper was a great find. I really like the way that you have truly captured the different ‘gardening’ characters in the cards. I really enjoyed reading about these. Thank you for an interesting post.

  2. I’m always looking for crafty gift and card ideas for men so this post was great 🙂

  3. And I thought I was the only one who raided wrapping paper and used it for other things! It’s amazing how each card is so different but from the same main source – well done, I’m sure they will love them.

  4. Great cards, and thanks for making me smile by reminding me of standing in the garden with my best friend eating peas! (her dad went mad if he caught us!)

    • You can’t beat forbidden peas straight from the garden. Our dog once ate an entire row of peas!! Mr E wasn’t amused!

  5. Cards for men can be so difficult, but garden ones seem to be a theme for commercial cards. However, yours a much better than any others I’ve seen which can be rather bland. Yours are thought through and are laid out beautifully, mim sure the recipients are going to love them.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

