Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

How do you stuff a Giraffe- with extreme difficulty! Boom Boom- the old ones are the best. Equally testing is how to add horns and a mane!

First who am I talking about- meet Maisie (NB I thought her name was going to be Geraldine but she turned out to be Maisie, or do you think differently?)

14.5.13 002

Here she is again, wanting to Go Out to Play (Eat!!)

14.5.13 001

So how do you stuff a Giraffe? Well start with a bigger opening than I left. Then use small pieces of toy stuffing- you can’t rush this. Twice as much stuffing material as you think- I have learned that the hard way. Children do tend to carry toys under their arms by the neck which does stretch them somewhat. Make sure you get every nook and cranny Full. I find a knitting needle really helps.

12.5.2013 001

Having my hand up the backside of the giraffe made me most grateful I am not a zoo vet!

Here is Maisie where she asked to be in the garden..

14.5.13 004

chowing the greenery and

14.5.13 003

enjoying the fragrance!

I decided to make a giraffe because every craft book I seemed to open  had a toy spotted giraffe as part of the props, but never a pattern. So I was really pleased when I found this one.

14.5.13 043

The only problem was I could not access the right materials for the horns and mane. So I used some cord for the horns, and some fluffy trim for the mane. I couldn’t stitch it in as shown on the pattern- instead I sewed in the two ends of the mane  then after it was stuffed I stitched it down.

14.5.13 005

So do you like her? Linking in with Frontier Dreams and Handmade Monday

 

 

 

Comments on: "How to stuff a giraffe!" (9)

  1. Hi Cathy!

    I love your little spotted giraffe! Thanks for sharing the tip on stuffing a giraffe.

    Hugs, Tamara

  2. So very cute!

  3. creative pixie said:

    Cute and I especially love her sweet little eyes.

    • Oh thanks for that. I changed the pattern for the eyes. Instead of a larger circle of black felt, I chain stitched around the eyes in 2 strands of Black DMC embroider floss. The eye lashes make the eyes tho’.

  4. Hi Cathy! She’s lovely and so cute! Thanks for your comment on Handmade Monday – it looks like the link had closed by the time you arrived – sorry. It’s open from Sunday evening (6pm) till Tuesday noon each week – these are UK times, so you may need to do a little time translation 9which always confuses me). Hoping to see you over there again soon 🙂

  5. Honestly! I never know what I’m going to find when I check in with you tee hee. Hand up a giraffe’s backside indeed!!!!

  6. It did seem intrusive to me, poor Maisie!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

