Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

Picture Postcard Perfect!

The village of Thornton le Dale is just a couple of miles away and has one of the most iconic cottages in the UK, not only on postcards but also on jigsaw puzzles, cross stitch kits, advertising material etc. But Thornton Dale has much more to offer than one cottage.

Let’s have a look around..

Here’s the cottage- does it look familiar?

thornton dale 004

Over the road from the cottage is the Hall Hotel- nice meals, but also with an antique shop full of rustic goodies and a ceramic painting studio in the old stables. Sadly both closed when I dropped by yesterday, so no pics.

Up the hill from the bridge , is the church

thornton dale 002

Now you may call me a tad prejudiced about this village. When I started to research my family history I found that my paternal great grandmother was born here.Her Dad was the local village blacksmith, maybe this one on the village green

thornton dale 010

It is now a gift shop and cafe. ( I once had a summer job here and had no idea of a possible family connection)

It is fascinating to trace your family through the census information. Our humble blacksmith started by calling himself this, in the next census he was blacksmith and farrier, then farrier and vet and finally on the last one ,vet!  ( Self promotion!!!)  He had a large family, one boy and a lot of girls. The older girls went into service, the boy went to Leeds and studied to become a vet. My great grandmother became his housekeeper, before marrying when she became a lady of leisure! I didn’t understand tho’ why they were married in Scarborough and not Pickering until I found out that when they got married ,Pickering Church had the builders in doing restoration work! My Gran was a terrific cook, her lemon curd and Victoria sponges will be forever remembered by me. I think she learned these skills from her own Mum.

Anyway let’s move on a bit

thornton dale 007

Don’t miss the motor museum- a must for chaps and lovers of  all things vintage

thornton dale 006

We had a car like this when I was growing up. Dame Edna Everage is maybe not one of my favourite characters but she described it on a visit to Stratford upon Avon as a “real Shakespearean half timbered car”! And so it has been ever since to me!

Finally don’t miss this gem of a vintage finding shop.

thornton dale 008

Well worth a visit.

Oh and my blacksmith vet great great grandparent is buried in the churchyard with his wife, his son the vet alongside, who never married and their young daughter who died as a child from the influenza.

Have you traced your family history- ;love to hear any stories. Also do you live anywhere which is picture postcard perfect?

 

Comments on: "Picture Postcard Perfect!" (7)

  1. Interesting post, really enjoyed the photos. Yes I’ve done a good deal of genealogy work; on my own family tree and on RMS Titanic’s James Paul Moody who was from North Yorkshire. Because of the latter I enjoyed this post immensely.

    • Thank you for your kind comments. I’m pleased you enjoyed the photos. I plan on taking a lot this year around North Yorkshire, so hope you like those too. Genealogy is so interesting- hope to share some more of my family stories this year too. I shall have to do some research into James Paul Moody now, as I have a very curious nature!

  2. I love this post! A relaxing, beautiful walk – and then on top of that you gave us lots of things to think about, I think it can be hard to see what is “postcard perfect” about a place you are so familiar with – it’s easier to see when you go somewhere new.
    Also, on family history – in my husband’s family we can trace one ancestor back to Notttingham, England in 1533! Then that man’s son and grandson were both born in Nottingham, in 1598 and 1638, respectively – but at some point they both went to the same county in New York. They died in 1683 and 1694, so they had pretty long lives. I would love to know when they came over and what happened to make them leave.

    • Wow, that is a long way back. It was probably religious freedom that made your husband’s family leave Nottingham. Nottingham was also famous for alabaster religious sculptures at this time. Also the great migration involved families from Boston, Lincolnshire. He certainly comes from a very old family! I am pleased you liked this post. Thanks for telling me your stories.

  3. I love family histories 🙂
    One of my GGG Grandfathers was a transported convict in the early 1800’s, his trade was listed as ‘jeweller’ on his transportation documents but I guess things are different once you are a convict on the other side of the world. On his release he was a blacksmith too 🙂

    • I have family members who came to Australia- they sensibly married service men, not convicts! Family history is just great. More stories will follow! Your GGG grandfather certainly had an adventure or two!

      • I expect one of his biggest adventures was my GGG grandmother, a convict herself and clearly the biggest ratbag of the two!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

